top of page

Governing Body


Dame Janet Primary Academy is an academy as part of The Kemnal Academies Trust (TKAT).


TKAT is a multi-academy trust which was established on 1st September 2010. Its constitution is set out in the Articles of Association and this is shared with individual academies via the Scheme of Delegation. TKAT have, through the Scheme of Delegation, established Local Governing Bodies for each of the Academies.


The Local Governing Body of each of the Academies is responsible for fulfilling the strategic and operational governance role in the conduct of the Academy.


Please click here to link to the Scheme of Delegation

Click here to Meet the TKAT Trustees

Please click here to link to Governance information relating to TKAT, including the structure of governance and relevant details about Trustees terms of office, attendance and business interests.


Please click here for key documents including the Master Funding Agreement, Articles of Association and Accounts.

JLGB Annual Impact Statement 2022



The Local Governing Body is committed to TKAT’s mission: Inspiring Learners, Changing Lives


Our vision is to put children first to build a better world.

  • We will ensure that the life chances of all pupils in our Academies are significantly improved as a result of our educational provision.

  • We will provide outstanding teaching and learning to enable all children – especially those from disadvantaged backgrounds - to reach their potential and meet the challenges of the twenty-first century.




The Purpose of the Joint Governing Body is to:

  1. Provide strategic leadership and overview of educational provision through challenge and support of senior leaders

  2. Ensure that the Academy’s long term vision reflects the needs of its community beyond current post holders and is in line with TKAT’s vision and values.

  3. Provide strategic overview of financial management and other key Governance responsibilities

  4. Ensure equality of opportunity and provision across all schools – fair capacity sharing and ensuring no school is disadvantaged



  • Following the meeting of the Joint Local Governing Body on February 9th 2022, it was decided to end the Joint Local Governance Structure for TKAT schools within Thanet.

  • From 9th February 2022, Dame Janet Primary Academy and Newlands Primary School will share a single Local Governing Body. 

  • Following the meeting of the Joint Local Governing Body on July 7th 2022, it was decided to split the single Local Governance Structure for Dame Janet and Newlands. As of October 13th 2022 Dame Janet has it's own Local Governing Body.

  • There is a Chair and Vice-Chair for our Local Governing Body.

  • The Chair is the same for all five Thanet TKAT schools.

  • Governors on our Local Governing Body will have specific responsibilities, including: Finance, Standards and Assessment, Behaviour and Welfare, Health and Safety, Safeguarding, SEND, EYFS and Leadership and Management.




The composition of each Local Governing Body is up to 9 governors:


  • The Chair (Appointed)

  • 2 Parent Governors (elected by parents)

  • 2 Staff Governors (elected by staff)

  • Headteacher (ex-offico)

  • Up to 3 other appointed Governors

Other members of the School’s leadership team may join meetings as appropriate. ​

Click here for the Constitution of the Dame Janet local governing body.

Our pay committee officially approves teacher and admin staff pay, with advice from our Headteacher. 

The membership of the pay committee is reviewed and approved annually at a governor's meeting.

The pay committee is made up of our Chair of Governors and one other nominated governor.

Our Chair of Governors contact details:

Mrs V. Ray

c/o Dame Janet Primary Academy

Newington Road



CT12 6PR

Email c/o the main office email:

Dame Janet Governing Body

We currently have 6 governors:

  • 3 Appointed Governors

  • 2 Staff Governors

  • 1 Executive Headteacher

Chair of Governors: Vanessa Ray
Vice Chair: TBC

Governor Resignations

bottom of page